Musicians share their thoughts on the death of Osama Bin Laden

May 02 2011, 1:17 AM EDT By Tim Karan

In response to the news that Al Qaeda leader Osama Bin Laden was killed by U.S. forces in a mansion outside the Pakistani capital of Islamabad, musicians--just like everyone else--immediately took to Twitter to share their thoughts. Here are just some (and we'll keep posting more develops):

Mark Hoppus (@markhoppus) of Blink-182: Love, thoughts and prayers to those we lost that day and since, and to the men and women still in harm's way. The good guys won one tonight.

Alex Gaskarth (@alexanderwilliam) of All Time Low: Wow... News broke while we were on stage. Crazy. Glad that the Obama camp got it done where certain others couldn't.

Hayley Williams (@yelyahwilliams) of Paramore: #nowplaying "Party In The USA" - Miley Cyrus

Pete Wentz (@petewentz) of Black Cards and Fall Out Boy: wow obama 1, 2 punch: lion king video than osama dead. seriously i wanna see who runs in 2012...

Keith Buckley (@deathoftheparty) of Every Time I Die: Fucking great. Anybody want 10,000 shares of stock in a business that produces urinal cakes with Bin Ladens face on them? shit.

Less Than Jake (@lessthanjake): Thank you to all of our U.S. Military men and women risking their lives to keep our butts safe. It is appreciated.

Jonathan Cook (@iamjonathancook) of Forever The Sickest Kids: I pray the death of Bin Ladin will mark a historical impact to unify the citizens of our country.

Benji Madden (@benjaminmadden) of Good Charlotte: America! F#Ck Yeah!

Alex DeLeon (@alexanderdeleon) of the Cab: tonight isn't about democrats or republicans. it's not about obama and the job he has or hasn't done. it's about justice and our soldiers.

Fake Problems (@fakeproblems): NOTHING BAD IS EVER GOING TO HAPPEN AGAIN!

Andy Hurley (@xsavagistx) of the Damned Things and Fall Out Boy: come on milwaukee, let's go to the war memorial for a USA chant!

Jordan Buckley (@jordanETID) of Every Time I Die: shit, i just sent Bin Laden $600 for his used macbook...

Look Mexico (@lookmexico): Holy crap I can not believe this. Never thought we'd see the day

Ryan Key (@williamryankey) of Yellowcard: Don't get me wrong. It is a huge accomplishment for our military, but the news is selling it like something has ended and all is well.

Billy Hamilton (@billverstein) of Silverstein: "America can do whatever we want" - Obama #NOPARENTSNORULES! #'MERICA #FREEDOM

Travis Reilly (@travisreilly) of This Is Hell: Bin Laden is the new Charlie Sheen

Eric Halvorsen (@erichalvorsen) of A Rocket To The Moon: Osama Bin Laden is dead? I'd like a long form document proving this...

Frank Turner (@fthc): Justin Bieber killed by US forces in Pakistan border region. Obama to make statement shortly..

Brian Southall (@briansouthall) of Isles & Glaciers: CNN reports CIA used "face-off" technology demonstrated by Nick Cage in order to infiltrate enemy camp

Kent Garrison (@kentgarrison) of Forever The Sickest Kids: "Bin Laden, such a poser" - Carmen Sandiego

Rian Dawson (@riandawson) of All Time Low: Obama: Re-election Confirmed.

Every Time I Die (@everytimeidie): this is seriously ruining our chances of getting live updates from the ICP set at Bamboozle

Cassadee Pope (@heycassadee) of Hey Monday: Couldn't think of a better place to be tomorrow. NYC bound. Obama rules. Osama's dead. Let's party.

Alex Johnson (@johnsonCAB) of the Cab: Even though osama is dead.... #obamastillsucks

Bryce Avary (@therocketsummer) of the Rocket Summer: In the words of the illustrious Uncle Rico... "Right on... Right on." High Fives to the troops.

Anberlin (@anberlin): I'm not gonna post something about this because it's gonna get lost in a sea of people trying to be clever & witty. But I am stoked! -NY

Jared Monaco (@jaredmaine) of the Maine: It's nice to know there is light at the end of a tunnel seemingly filled with endless shit.

Anthony Raneri (@anthonyraneri) of Bayside: Proud to be an American tonight. Reminds me of the night Obama won the election and we watched it in the dressing room in ft lauderdale

Jack Barakat (@jackalltimelow) of All Time Low: Fuck Yeah America. Fuck. Yeah America fuck yea

Gabe Saporta (@gabrielsaporta) of Cobra Starship: osama bin laden is alive and well and living in paris. Parix, texas

Katy Perry (@katyperry): I believe in justice... but don't u think that an eye for an eye will make the whole world blind? #revolutioncomesthroughlove #worldpeace



What do you think of the news? Tell us!