Architects unveil atmospheric video for “Dead Butterflies”—watch

Architects are giving fans another taste of their forthcoming album For Those That Wish To Exist this week.

On Wednesday, Architects unveiled their powerful new video for “Dead Butterflies” which they filmed at the legendary Royal Albert Hall in London.

Read more: Musicians react to President Joe Biden and VP Kamala Harris being sworn in

We are just over a month away from the release of Architect’s highly-anticipated new album For Those That Wish To Exist. So far, the band have offered a few sneak peeks at the forthcoming release over the past few months.

Back in October, they dropped their surprise new songAnimals,” which highlights the existential crises we deal with in life. Then, in December, they returned with a post-apocalyptic video for “Black Lungs.”

Now, Architects have unveiled their third new song off of For Those That Wish To Exist. “Dead Butterflies” gives listeners another preview of what they can expect on the new album. As well, the anthemic track further shows Architects’ growth as both musicians and songwriters since 2018’s Holy Hell, their first release following the death of Tom Searle.

Back in November, Architects took over the renowned Royal Albert Hall for their groundbreaking livestream performance. While there, they also filmed the atmospheric video for “Dead Butterflies.”

Read more: It looks like production for ‘Umbrella Academy’ season 3 is about to begin

For Those That Wish To Exist officially arrives on Feb. 26 via Epitaph Records. The self-produced LP includes 15 tracks that tackle what it means to exist while reflecting on the human condition. Listeners can expect to hear Architects’ nostalgic post-hardcore sounds infused with orchestral and electronic elements like you’ve never heard before on this new album.

Dan Searle recently explained that this new release is all about sustainability and what we can do to help our planet now.

“This album was me looking at our inability to change to a way of life that would sustain the human race and save the planet,” Searle said. “I wanted to look in the mirror and ask ourselves the question of what are we going to do, as opposed to trying to point the finger at politicians. Change has to start on a personal level. The world has developed a culture of wanting someone else to deal with it when we need to take our own responsibility. It has to start there.”


Architects’ For Those That Wish To Exist tracklisting:

1. Do You Dream of Armageddon?
2. Black Lungs
3. Giving Blood
4. Discourse Is Dead
5. Dead Butterflies
6. An Ordinary Extinction
7. Impermanence ft. Winston McCall (Parkway Drive)
8. Flight Without Feathers
9. Little Wonder ft. Mike Kerr (Royal Blood)
10. Animals
11. Libertine
12. Goliath ft. Simon Neil (Biffy Clyro)
13. Demi God
14. Meteor
15. Dying Is Absolutely Safe

What are your reactions to the “Dead Butterflies” video? Which song are you most looking forward to hearing on Architects’ new album? Let us know in the comments below.