Dashboard Confessional shared that their ninth studio album will be released in 2022. The album, titled All The Truth That I Can Tell, sees founder and frontman Chris Carrabba returning to his roots while embracing a newfound sense of vulnerability.

Until the album’s Feb. 25 release, Dashboard just dropped the first single, “Here’s To Moving On.” The stripped-back track is heavily reminiscent of the band's early days with honesty at its core.

Read more: Spiritbox’s Courtney LaPlante discusses breakout album ‘Eternal Blue’

Since the release of a compilation album last year, Dashboard have set their sights on the future with optimism. The best-of album, The Best Ones Of The Best Ones, served as a reminder of just how powerful they were and continue to be. Now, Carrabba is back with a rediscovered approach to songwriting that reveals a much more outspoken insight into his life.

“I think in this song I find myself understanding what brought me to the mat and what it takes to get up off the mat,” Carrabba says of Dashboard's latest single.

“Sometimes what brought you to the mat are outside forces, and sometimes it’s you, yourself. Or it can be all those things. But it does seem the only thing that gets you up off the mat isn’t outside forces — it’s always you.”

Read more: Deb Never tapped into her dreams to make ‘Where Have All The Flowers Gone?’

The process of writing All The Truth That I Can Tell was built upon pure sincerity for Carrabba. Having been entirely written and recorded pre-COVID-19, Carrabba says the songs came to him through a creative clarity. On what will be Dashboard Confessional’s first new album in four years, it’s clear that the journey to creating the album was driven by steadfast truthfulness.

“Honesty was at the heart of the writing process, at the heart of the recording process and at the heart of this collection of songs,” Carrabba says.

“I had the rare opportunity to be unflinchingly honest,” he continues. “But I think I would have thought in the early days that that would be commonplace. Now, I realize it’s some kind of cycle within your life, and there’s great personal reward in accepting that.”

All The Truth That I Can Tell drops Feb. 25 via Hidden Note Records/AWAL. Listen to “Here’s To Moving On” below.

All The Truth That I Can Tell tracklist:

1. “Burning Heart”
2. “Everyone Else Is Just Noise”
3. “Here’s To Moving On”
4. “The Better Of Me”
5. “Southbound And Sinking”
6. “Sleep In”
7. “Me And Mine”
8. “Sunshine State”
9. “Pain Free In Three Chords”
10. “Young”
11. “All The Truth That I Can Tell”