Destroy Boys 'Open Mouth, Open Heart'
[Photo by Ash Gellman]

"The songs come alive" on Destroy Boys' 'Open Mouth, Open Heart'

Destroy Boys have shared their third full-length, Open Mouth, Open Heart, with fans today.

Following previously released singles such as “Drink” and “Locker Room Bully,” Open Mouth, Open Heart was produced by Will Yip (Panic! At The Disco, Mannequin Pussy, the Mezingers) during lockdown.

Read more: Left Hand LA’s Julie Kucharski on sustainable thrift-inspired design

While the record is their third album, it held a lot of firsts for the band. During the COVID-19 pandemic, the group had to change how they wrote, recorded and produced their music. 

Guitarist/vocalists Violet Mayugba and Alexia Roditis, along with drummer Narsai Malik, quarantined together in Philadelphia, where they were able to focus on the songwriting process in a way they never had before.

Because they had time to home in on the writing aspect of the album, the group also had the freedom to perfect the production in the studio with Yip. The product is an album that showcases Destroy Boys’ growth as musicians.

“Everyone adding their own element makes the songs come alive,” Roditis says in a press release. “But the biggest difference was going from 19 to 21. I feel like a different person, aesthetically.”

Read more: Joyce Manor at their Summerstage performance on upcoming album and more

Another first for the band is that two of the album’s tracks were recorded in Spanish. “Te llevo conmigo” and “Lo peor” are Roditis’ way of paying tribute to their family.

“I grew up bilingual,” Roditis says. “This song is a tribute to my grandparents. I didn’t get to know them, but I feel them around me, so I wanted a song to honor them. I haven’t heard many metal songs in Spanish, so I was excited to write it.”

Read more: Amyl and the Sniffers on the artistic growth that led to their new album

You can watch the brand-new visual for “Te llevo conmigo” below, and let us know your thoughts on Destroy Boys’ third album in the comments.

Open Mouth, Open Heart tracklisting:

1. “Locker Room Bully”
2. “Muzzle”
3. “Sweet Tooth”
4. “Lo peor”
5. “Cherry Garcia”
6. “Te llevo conmigo (Here Lie All Those Who Have Come Before Me)”
7. “Bob”
8. “Drink”
9. “Ruins”
10. “Escape”
11. “All This Love”
12. “For What”
13. “Secrets”

Destroy Boys tour dates:

10/10 – Oakland, CA @ Open Mouth, Open Heart Record Release
11/19 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
11/20 – San Diego, CA @ VooDoo Room
11/21 – Mesa, AR @ Nile Theater
11/23 – Austin, TX @ Antone’s
11/24 – Dallas, TX @ Ruins
11/26 – Nashville, TN @ The End
11/27 – Atlanta, GA @ Purgatory At The Masquerade
11/28 – Tampa, FL @ Crowbar
11/30 – Chapel Hill, NC @ Local 506
12/01 – Washington, DC @ Songbyrd Music House
12/02 – Hamden, CT @ Space Ballroom
12/03 – Brooklyn, NY @ Market Hotel
12/04 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church
12/04 – Providence, RI @ Fête Music Hall Lounge
12/06 – Allston, MA @ Brighton Music Hall
12/08 – Cleveland, OH @ Mahalls
12/09 – Hamtramck, MI @ The Sactuary
12/10 – Chicago, IL @ Cobra Lounge
12/11 – Springfield, MO @Odyssey Lounge
12/13 – Oklahoma City, OK @ 89th Street Collective
12/14 – Albuquerque, NM @ Launchpad