Fadeaway Records have returned from a hiatus exceeding ten years with a mission, and it all begins with Friends

“This compilation was a catalyst to reform Fadeaway Records as a not for profit label,” says Michael Dubin, who runs the label alongside Neil Rubenstein. “Everything that we release will be for charity, we plan on doing a series of really cool intimate benefit shows in the NY area to coincide with the release of this record.”

The first work of their return, Friends–a 35-song 3xLP featuring unreleased material from some of your favorite musicians and Dubin's own classic home recordings–comes from a place very close to Dubin's life and to the lives of the musicians who donated their work to it.

“I lost my father to Pancreatic cancer in 2002 and I wanted to put together an amazing compilation and donate all of the proceeds to cancer research charity in his memory. All of the friends and artists involved in this record are providing us with the names of lost friends and family, the entire list will be included in the liner notes and we are dedicating this record to all of those people,” says Dubin.

Frank Iero, who is no stranger to working with organizations fighting against cancer (see: his work with My Chemical Romance and the Make-A-Wish Foundation, his collaboration with Macbeth/SSE for their “Fuck Cancer” sneakers and the various T-shirt designs his bands have donated to Shirts For A Cure over the years), has contributed a brand new song titled “2.5mg just ain't enough for me,” which you can stream below.


Friends is set for release February 25 and can be preordered exclusively through the Fadeaway Records website. All proceeds go to cancer research charities. Though the first pressing (limited to 500) is already sold out, the second pressing (pictured right, above) is still available.

Full track listing:
Side A 
Motion City Soundtrack – “Left and Leaving” (Weakerthans) 
Kevin Devine – “Kings Crossing” (Elliott Smith) 
Andy Hull – “Back of Your Old Church” 
Gobotron – “Walk Like a Dog” 
Jaymay – “You Are The Only One I Love” (Piano Demo) 
Alaska – “Teacher in the Sun”

Side B
Brian Bonz & The Dot Hongs – “Super Connected” (Broken Social Scene) 
The Narrative – “Hallelujah” 
Twin Forks – “Good Things” (Rival Schools) 
Matt Pryor – “Girl Why’d You Run Away” (Reggie and the Full Effect) 
Walter Schreifels – “The Storm” (Judge) 
Far – “Nestle” (Acoustic)

Side C 
James Dean Wells – “Love in The Time of Cholera” 
Judy Chong – “Putting the Dog to Sleep” (The Antlers) 
Hot Rod Circuit – “Betty Ford” (2003 Unreleased Acoustic Demo) 
Ian Love – “Into My Arms” (Nick Cave) 
Reggie and the Full Effect – “Oh Fudge”

Side D 
Frank Iero – “2.5mg Just Aint Enough For Me” 
Nightmare of You – “I’m So Fucking Mad” 
Saves The Day – “Web in Front” (Archers of Loaf) 
Anthony Raneri – “I’ll Follow You Into The Dark” (Death Cab for Cutie) 
Vinnie Caruana – “Question” (Old 97’s) 
Ours – “Kill The Band”

Side E (Recorded at Dubin’s House) 
Pablo – “Wall Street” 
The Honorary Title – “Everything I Once Had” 
Kevin Devine – “Good Man” (Brand New) 
Ian Love – “Sky to Fall” 
The New Amsterdams – “The Death of Us” 
Straylight Run (Ft Jeff Derosa) – “Dignity & Money” 
Ben Lee – “Get Gotten”

Side F (Recorded at Dubin’s House) 
Brand New – “Moshi Moshi” 
The Gay Blades – “N.H.D.N” 
Nightmare of You – “Up the Junction” (Squeeze) 
Head Automatica – “Jackie Wilson Said” (Van Morrison) 
Fred Mascherino – “Lullaby” (Breaking Pangaea) 
Inside – “Stumbled on a Penny” 
Walter Schreifels – “Fazer” (Quicksand)

Like what you've heard here? You can learn more about Iero's upcoming solo album in our new issue, AP 307: The Most Anticipated Music of 2014.