Listen to Icarus The Owl’s energetic new song “Failed Transmissions”

September 26, 2017
  • Share

[Photo by: Aaron Ziesemer]

Portland, Oregon pop-rockers Icarus The Owl — consisting of Joey Rubenstein on guitar/lead vocals, Jake Thomas-Low on bass, Rob Bernknopf on drums and Tim Brown on guitar/vocals — are premiering their vibrant single “Failed Transmissions” from upcoming album Rearm Circuits, out December 1 on Blue Swan Records.

“I grew up listening to fast and melodic punk music. Late '90s Fat Wreck and Epitaph bands were my lifeblood,” says Rubenstein. “We wanted to capture the essence and energy of a genre I hold so dear, but insert our style into it.” 

Read more: Icarus The Owl cover Vanessa Carlton’s “A Thousand Miles”

Watch the lyric video for “Failed Transmissions” below:

Rearm Circuits is the band's fifth studio album and the second on Dance Gavin Dance's Will Swan's label. Their previous release was 2015's Pilot Waves.

You can pre-order the record here. Check the full tracklist and album art below.

1. Failed Transmissions
2. Dream Shade
3. Ghosts of Former Lives
4. The Vanishing Point
5. Coma Dreams
6. DoubleSleep
7. Do Not Resuscitate
8. The Renaissance Of Killing Art
9. Hidalgo’s Secret Hideout
10. Burial Vows
11. Dimensions
12. Shadowboxing

Catch the band on tour this fall:
09/26 – Albuquerque, NM @ The Jam Spot *
09/28 – Casper, WY @ Crescent Moon Coffee Shop
09/29 – Bismarck, ND @ Rhythm Records
09/30 – Minot, ND @ 62 Doors
10/01 – Williston, ND @ James Memorial
10/03 – Butte, MT @ Staggering Ox
12/02 – Anaheim, CA @ Chain Reaction
12/03 – Sacramento, CA @ Holy Diver

* with Dayshell

Written by Natasha Heinz

For Natasha Heinz, it was really not a phase. After spending 11 years reading Alternative Press in her hometown in Brazil, she moved to Ohio and landed a job at her favorite magazine. Now, she's constantly cold but sure as hell the happiest she’s ever been.