Pop-punk five-piece Yearbooks are gearing up for the release of their next full-length, Stepping Stones, and they’re offering up the next single, “Falling Backwards,” exclusively with AltPress.

Formed in 2014, the California-based act self-released their first EP, Hanging By A Thread, the following year. The band—vocalist Kevin Lietz, guitarists Brett Lietz and Jobany Ruiz, bassist Miguel Guzman and drummer Carlos Esparza—followed it up with their debut full-length, Peer Pressure, and later a reworked version of Thread’s “Gemini” in 2018.

Read more: Rock & Roll Hall of Fame 2020 nominees divide fans on definition of rock

Fast forward to present day where the band’s sound caught the attention of Erick Droegmoeller and Less Than Jake drummer and Fueled By Ramen co-founder Vinnie Fiorello who together form Lost Music Collective. Launched just this year, the label focuses on capturing the DIY pop-punk spirit of rising artists.

Yearbooks signed with the collective earlier this year, joining labelmates Rival Town, Chase Your Words, Goalkeeper and Bitter Bones. The band announced their new partnership in September, revealing the first track, “Exactly,“ off their upcoming EP was available on Lost Music Collective’s fall sampler.

Read more: Pete Wentz launches Ronin jewelry and apparel collection

We’re very proud to announce that we signed with Lost Music Collective . A new label owned by Vinnie Fiorello (Less Than…

Posted by Yearbooks on Friday, September 20, 2019


Stepping Stones is due in less than a month and will be their first with the label, with today’s release marking the next single, “Falling Backwards.” Expanding their signature pop-punk sound, Yearbooks channel hope and acceptance.

[‘Falling Backwards’] is about finding yourself in another bad situation and accepting hard truths,” the band explains. “Most importantly, it’s about admitting to yourself that it’s not always your own fault when things go wrong.”

Stepping Stones drops Nov. 1 via Lost Music Collective. You can check out the new video for “Falling Backwards” along with the full tracklist below.

Read more: Frank Iero had a “blast” drinking Post Malone Bud Light at rapper’s gig

Read more: Bring Me The Horizon drop customized merch based on your Spotify habits

Yearbooks - Stepping Stones

  1. “Falling Backwards”
  2. “Exactly”
  3. “Stepping Stones”
  4. “Get Lost”
  5. “New Way Out”