Hear the liberating first single "I Want To Kill You" from Citizen's new album

It looks like the wait for a new Citizen album is finally almost over.

This week, the band debuted their dynamic new single “I Want To Kill You,” off of their forthcoming album Life In Your Glass World.

Read more: Here’s why you’ll probably never hear Dave Grohl sing a Nirvana song

It’s been just over three years since Citizen released their last full-length album As You Please. With songs such as “Jet,” “In The Middle Of It All” and “As You Please,” the 2017 LP truly left fans wanting more from the Toledo-based band.

Since the album’s release, Citizen have shared a few new tracks over the years. In 2018, they debuted “Open Your Heart,” an As You Please B-side. More recently, in 2019, they dropped the track “Big Mouth.”

Now, Citizen are back with their new single “I Want To Kill You” which offers a new look at their forthcoming full-length album Life In Your Glass World. The lively track is accompanied by an entertaining new video that introduces viewers to an unexpectedly sweaty utopia.

Read more: Marvel has finally addressed that Peter Parker ‘Spider-Man 3’ theory

For this next music era, Citizen really took back creative control. Frontman Mat Kerekes built a home studio where they tracked all of the 11 songs on the album. As a result, Life In Your Glass World offers a raw, unfiltered side to Citizen fans have yet to hear.

Amidst the uncertainty of the music industry during the coronavirus pandemic, Citizen were sure of one thing. Guitarist Nick Hamm says that the band knew exactly which direction they wanted to go in for Life In Your Glass World.

“I don’t have a lot of regret, but there have definitely been times when we felt powerless during the band’s existence,” he says. “This time, we really owned every part of the process. It’s easy to feel like you’re on autopilot when you’re in a band, but that’s not a good place to be this far into our existence. We consciously knew we wanted to break free. This is the first self-sufficient Citizen record. There was no pressure at all and moving at our own pace allowed the songs to be a little more fleshed out.”

For Kerekes, “I Want To Kill You” greatly sums up the overall themes and sounds heard on Citizen’s new album.

“Sometimes you feel like you’re being used,” Kerekes says. “A lot of the lyrics are liberating, they’re reclaiming control.”

Life In Your Glass World arrives on Mar. 26 via Run For Cover Records. Pre-orders are available here and “I Want To Kill You” is available to stream below.

Citizen Life In Your Glass World

Life In Your Glass World tracklisting:

1. Death Dance Approximately
2. I Want To Kill You
3. Blue Sunday
4. Thin Air
5. Call Your Bluff
6. Pedestal
7. Fight Beat
8. Black and Red
9. Glass World
10. Winter Buds
11. Edge of The World

What are your reactions to Citizen’s new single? What do you think their next album will sound like? Let us know in the comments below.