apr april 10 new songs
[Photos by: mxmtoon/Cesar Balcazar, Stay Over/Anthony Campusano]

AP&R playlist: Haunting electro-rock, indie undercurrents and emo dad odes

You’re welcome: We’ve made finding new songs by rising bands easy. Each week, we’re gathering the best from the underground and offering it to you in one concise list. Scroll below and check out our Spotify Discover playlist, featuring these tracks and more!

In return, we want to hear your favorite. Let us know which new songs you’ll be spinning for the rest of the weekend in the comments!

Read more: Ash Costello almost missed My Chemical Romance’s return

1. Rezz – “Someone Else” feat. Grabbitz

For fans of: Kayzo, San Holo and INZO

Canadian DJ and producer Rezz teamed up with EDM artist and singer Grabbitz to deliver a haunting electronic single titled “Someone Else.” The track is the first single the DJ shared on RCA Records, which uniquely combines chill-inducing vocals, booming basslines and funky electro-rock beats. Though Rezz won’t be at any EDM festivals this summer due to concert cancellations, listeners can still explore her most recent electronic-dance music offerings such as “Into The Abyss” featuring Zeds Dead, “Hell On Earth” with YULTRON and “Falling” featuring Aaron Gillespie of Underoath

2. Crash Overcast – “Five Revolutions”

For fans of: Hot Mulligan, Belmont and Assuming We Survive 

SoCal punks Crash Overcast recently shared their riff-filled single and music video for “Five Revolutions.” The visual is jokingly labeled as #Brunchcore as the quartet smash mimosas, bacon, toast, sriracha and all the other mid-morning meal essentials outside on a sunny day. The band recorded their debut album with Paul Miner (New Found Glory, Thrice, Atreyu) due out May 8. 

3. mxmtoon – “lessons”

For fans of: dodie, Cavetown and Declan McKenna

mxmtoon released her new single “lessons” featuring light and airy vocals, prompting listeners to take time to learn from your anxiety. “‘lessons” serves as a reminder to be kind to yourself, to trust your instincts and live life with purpose,” she says. “It’s not easy to remember this at all points in life, but my hope is that this song can leave this sentiment echoing in your brain, at least for a little while.” This calming tune chock full of good advice will appear on her forthcoming seven-track EP, dawn, due out April 22. Preorders can be placed here

4. TEETH – “Deathrace” 

For fans of: Every Time I Die, Hundred Suns and Norma Jean

TEETH, a metal supergroup comprising Hundred Suns members Ryan “Legs” Leger (ex-Norma Jean, Every Time I Die) and Chris LeMasters (ex-Dead and Divine) as well as Blake Louis Prince (Straight Reads The Line), are using this time of self-isolation to write and record. The band shared this track about quarantine itself. “Deathrace” touches on mental health issues being faced all over the world and raises the question “Are we the plague?” through crunchy riffs, demanding vocals and blast beats.

5. Momma – “Biohazard”

For fans of: Slow Pulp, Vundabar and Goth Babe

L.A. indie outfit Momma shared their flowy undercurrent single “Biohazard,” riddled with catchy guitar hooks, experimental synth sounds and metaphorical lyrics. The narrative centers around a man with dissociative identity disorder. “The song presents the duality within his brain and the evil and remorse that co-exist within him,” the band say. The track follows up their first single “Double Dare” from their forthcoming album, Two Of Me, due out June 5. Preorders are available here

6. Pure Protein – “Happy Birthday”

For fans of: Dent May, Tennis and TV Girl

Pure Protein is the solo music project from Mississippi native M.W. Powell who recently relocated to Los Angeles to perfect his sound. His most recent release “Happy Birthday” is the follow-up to his debut single “Julia,” both of which experiment with ambient vocals and garage-rock guitar melodies. The two tracks will be available on his forthcoming debut EP, Winner Goes Home, due out May 8. 

7. DVDDY – “Self Love / Self Harm” feat. Andrew Wells

For fans of: Dance Gavin Dance, Eidola and A Day To Remember

DVDDY is the quintessential solo artist to add to your Spotify queue if you want to hear EDM–“emo dad music” that is. Created by a father from Utah, DVDDY teamed up with Andrew Wells of Dance Gavin Dance and Eidola to deliver “Self Love / Self Harm.” The track one-ups typical pop-punk tracks with heavy bass and guitar lines and added electronic synth sounds on top of it. “ I hope this song brings comfort in knowing that while we may not have the answers to the pain, we do have others that understand it and the horrible emptiness we carry,” he says of the track. 

8. Grasmere – “Invincible”

For fans of: Angels & Airwaves, Thirty Seconds To Mars and 888

Columbus-based alt-rock quintet Grasmere offer hope to everyone stuck inside during these unprecedented times in their new track “Invincible.” The band channel astral rock giants such as Angels & Airwaves in the single by using catchy hooks and hypnotic gang vocals. “The song is an anthem for those whose voices go unheard,” vocalist/guitarist Tyler Cox says. “Nobody has to fight alone, and together, we can accomplish anything. We are invincible.”

9. Blues Pills – “Low Road”

For fans of: Halestorm, All Them Witches and Valley Of The Sun

Heavy-rock quartet Blues Pills pack a punch in both their riffs and vocals such as classic rock stars Joan Jett and Janis Joplin. The band hail from all parts of the world, including Sweden, France and the U.S. Their diverse backgrounds allowed them to combine multiple influences, ultimately creating a project reminiscent of both classic and modern rock such as Halestorm, full of face-melting vocals and guitar solos. Listeners can hear more on their forthcoming record, Holy Moly!, due out June 19. 

10. Stay Over – “Happy” 

For fans of: Arrested Youth, Circa Waves and MISSIO

Stay Over combines several elements into his new track “Happy,” including rap beats, experimental synth sounds and even slam poetry verses, which makes sense given that he’s influenced by the likes of Kid Cudi, Death Cab For Cutie and Shakespeare. In his track shared via Grammy-nominated producer Cisco Adler‘s Bananabeat Records, the singer hopes to spread the idea that many people are unhappy in life, and the sad aren’t alone. “It’s about growing up,” he says. “It’s about me trying to figure out what the fuck is going on. Trying to figure out why I’m not as happy as I used to be.”