Bodom After Midnight Alexi Laiho-min
[Photo by Terhi Ylimäinen]

Back in December, the metal music community lost a major talent. Alexi Laiho, the frontman and guitarist of Children of Bodom and supergroup Bodom After Midnight, died at the age of 41.

Now, Bodom After Midnight have confirmed their new EP with Laiho’s final recordings is officially on the way.

Read more: Dave Grohl weighs in on Phoebe Bridgers’ ‘SNL’ guitar smashing criticism

In early January, we learned that Alexi Laiho passed away in his Helsinki home following a battle with long-term health issues. Soon after, Laiho’s widow Kelli broke her silence and thanked everyone for their support during this difficult time.

Although Laiho is gone, fans can still expect to hear new music from the late musician this year. On Apr. 23, Bodom After Midnight are releasing their new EP Paint The Sky With The Blood. The 3-track EP is in honor of Laiho and marks the last-ever recordings from the musician.

“Like ourselves, Alexi was beyond stoked about these songs and anxious to get these out so we are happy that we can fulfill his wish,” Bodom After Midnight say. “Needless to say that we are honored and proud to be a part of his very last creative work and unleash it the way he wanted it to. It’s time to let the beast out of the cage one more time as a celebration of Alexi’s music, legacy and the man himself.”

Read more: JAY-Z apparently compared Lil Uzi Vert to Prince and the internet can’t deal

The upcoming EP features two original Bodom After Midnight songs – “Payback’s A Bitch” and “Paint The Sky With Blood.” However, the release also includes a cover of “Where Dead Angels Lie,” originally by Swedish metal band Dissection.

Bodom After Midnight had big plans after forming early last year. The band were expected to release a full-length album sometime in 2021. However, those plans were cut short following Laiho’s death on Dec. 29.

The Paint The Sky With The Blood EP arrives via Napalm Records on Apr. 23.

Bodom After Midnight EP-min
[Photo by Travis Smith]

Paint The Sky With Blood tracklisting:

1. Paint The Sky With Blood
2. Payback’s A Bitch
3. Where Dead Angels Lie (Dissection Cover)

What are your reactions to Bodom After Midnight releasing their final music with Alexi Laiho? Let us know in the comments below.