ashton irwin skinny skinny

This is the song that inspired Ashton Irwin’s solo album ‘Superbloom’

5 Seconds Of Summer’s Ashton Irwin is preparing for his solo album debut ‘Superbloom’ and teasing what to expect from the next single “Have U Found What Ur Looking For?”

October 1, 2020
  • Share

Last week, 5 Seconds Of Summer fans uncovered new music from Ashton Irwin just before he officially announced his debut solo album. Following the release of first single “Skinny Skinny” Friday, the drummer is opening up about his next song off Superbloom.

Titled “Have U Found What Ur Looking For?,” Irwin took to Twitter to begin teasing the track and its importance in the grander scheme of the album.

Read more: Here’s how Lady Gaga reacted to Rob Halford joining her fans at a show

On Tuesday, Irwin announced the track as his next single, revealing it is the “genesis” of the album, the latter of which releases Oct. 23.

“This is the genesis of my record SUPERBLOOM,” he tweets. “This song is about overcoming mental resistance and facing every fear you’ve ever had.”

The following day, the musician shared a raw voice memo of the single featuring Matthew Pauling on guitar. Pauling previously worked with 5SOS on their most recent album CALM and 2015’s Sounds Good Feels Good. He also has recent credits with Palaye Royale, Jagwar Twin, FEVER 333, Black Veil Brides, Mayday Parade, State Champs and Good Charlotte.

“Sharing the first-ever voice memo of a song that’s freshly written is, to be honest, absolutely terrifying, Irwin tweets. “But in my opinion, the purest form of a song, before we turn it into a full production.

“You hear in this voice memo my voice and Matthew Pauling on guitar, discovering the song that would inspire a whole record. ‘Have U Found What Ur Looking For?’ comes out everywhere this Friday, and I can’t wait for you to hear it.”

Now, Irwin has shared another short tease of the track complete with some very on-brand air-drumming.

“‘Have You Found What Ur Looking for?” [Out] everywhere at Midnight. Once a drummer… always a drummer,” he shares.

Irwin continued in another tweet, thanking Pauling for helping him write his new music.

“I’m so grateful to have a writing partner like you, Matt,” Irwin shares. “We are farmers of the creative universe. Our friendship has been filled with nothing but positive creative and philosophical talks, we make music together, we open our minds together, we have a new song out midnight tonight.”

While awaiting the next single on Oct. 2, you can check out the music video for the first single “Skinny Skinny” below along with Superbloom’s tracklisting. Presave “Have U Found What Ur Looking For” here and preorder the album here ahead of release Oct. 23.

Superbloom tracklist

1. “Scar”
2. “Have U Found What Ur Looking For”
3. “Skinny Skinny”
4. “Greyhound”
5. “Matter Of Time” (Interlude)
6. “Sunshine”
7. “The Sweetness”
8. “I’m To Blame”
9. “Drive”
10. “Perfect Lie”

Written by Rachel Campbell