blink-182 enema tour, mark hoppus nine, fyre fest, lawsuit
[Photo by: Randall Slavin]

It’s been an intense, teaser-filled road to the ninth album (or is it?) from blink-182 aptly titled NINE. But the wait is finally over, and the pop-punk mainstays are certainly delivering.

It’s been three long years since blink dropped their Grammy-nominated 2016 full-length California—their first with the addition of Matt Skiba following Tom DeLonge’s departure in 2015.

Read more: Green Day dance through the decades in new “Father Of All…” video

The band announced a California deluxe release with new song “Parking Lot” in March 2017. However, weeks later, they revealed they were already thinking of their next album with plans to begin writing by years end.

A few months after the deluxe release, Mark Hoppus was already talking about where the band wanted to go with their sound next without any actual music in production. The frontman told NME they wanted to get “a little more experimental” like they did on the Untitled album.

In April 2018, the band finally hit the studio for the next album. The following month, Hoppus revealed the songs “sound like they pick up where Take Off Your Pants And Jacket left off.” Hoppus emphasized the comparison again in June, telling Zane Lowe, “If you take California and compare it to Enema of the State, I would say that what we’re writing now is more in line with Take Off Your Pants And Jacket and the Untitled record.” Hoppus later teased that 2003 vibe again and Travis Barker also agreed, making way for a super era appropriate Myspace teaser as the album approached.

Read more: 10 hilarious “felt emo might delete” videos you need to see including blink-182, Hawthorne Heights and more

In November, we finally got new blink-182 music alongside Steve Aoki on “Why Are We So Broken” for the EDM artist’s album. In January, Hoppus confirmed the band were still in the studio (while also teasing a special project later revealed to be Alex Gaskarth collab Simple Creatures).

In March, another studio photo surfaced suggesting the trio were hard at work with Pharrell. Shortly after, Barker said the band hoped to release the next album by the time they hit the 25th anniversary Warped Tour stage in Atlantic City at the end of June. Hoppus echoed it by stating it would be in our headphones by “early summer.”

The band wiped their Instagram in early May before announcing an epic (yet bumpy) tour with Lil Wayne and Neck Deep. Two days later, blink-182 unleashed the first fist-pumping single, “Blame It On My Youth” (which was DeLonge-approved).

Read more: blink-182 talk mental health: “‘Adam’s Song’ is just as important now”

As May came to a close, Hoppus revealed the June release date was no longer the plan. As a result, fans began speculating there would be a surprise drop before the month ended. Obviously, the theories were disproven, and Hoppus shot down another one shortly after.

With only the confirmation of no joke song on the album, fans were met with the news of “at least two more songs” before its release. A week later, the band delivered with the short, punk-tinged “Generational Divide” and then celebrated the 182nd day of the year with “Happy Days” in July.

No album release date in sight, blink confirmed the Pharrell collab that would appear on an upcoming EP alongside a Lil Uzi Vert collab. Weeks later, the trio finally confirmed the September release date on Good Morning America with the title and tracklist arriving shortly after.

Read more: Tom DeLonge plays two blink-182 songs at intimate Angels & Airwaves gig

The band released two more singles—“Darkside” and “I Really Wish I Hated You”—and the official Lil Wayne mashup. Now, NINE has officially arrived, and you can check out the full stream below.

NINE is available now here, and you can check out the full tracklisting below. The band wrap up their 20th anniversary Enema Of The State tour with Lil Wayne and Neck Deep in Brooklyn (after canceling the final Columbus date). They also have two festival appearances including TwitchCon in San Diego and Aftershock in Sacramento. Tickets are available here.

NINE Tracklisting

1. “The First Time”
2. “Happy Days”
3. “Heaven”
4. “Darkside”
5. “Blame It On My Youth”
6. “Generational Divide”
7. “Run Away”
8. “Black Rain”
9. “I Really Wish I Hated You”
10. “Pin the Grenade”
11. “No Heart To Speak Of”
12. “Ransom”
13. “On Some Emo Shit”
14. “Hungover You”
15. “Remember To Forget Me”

See more: 10 pop-punk shows we wish we could have gone to