bring me the horizon bmth 2019

Bring Me The Horizon debut electric track “Ludens” off ‘Death Stranding’

BMTH have debuted their fiery new track "Ludens" from the soundtrack for the forthcoming PS4 game 'Death Stranding.'

November 6, 2019
  • Share

The highly anticipated video game Death Stranding revealed its incredible accompanying soundtrack last month, set to include heavyweights Bring Me The Horizon.

Now, after what has felt like an eternity of waiting, BMTH have debuted their fiery new track “Ludens” from the forthcoming soundtrack Death Stranding: Timefall (Original Music from the World of Death Stranding). Check it out below!

Read more: Starbucks unveils 2019 holiday cup designs, winter drink menu

The band began teasing the track earlier this week, leading up to its worldwide premiere on BBC Radio 1 with Annie Mac Nov. 6.

Speaking with Mac, frontman Oli Sykes revealed how Bring Me The Horizon found themselves on the soundtrack.

“We’d been talking about doing a song for this game for a while. But it was just taking a long time with lawyers, all kinds of problems and stuff. We weren’t really writing anything because we didn’t think it was going to happen. And then on tour we get an email saying ‘it’s all gone through, it’s happening, but you need to deliver the song for Saturday,’ and it was like Monday.

And we were like, ‘we haven’t written anything is there any way we can get an extension?’ They were like, ‘no, it’s a hard delivery date for Saturday at 12. If you don’t deliver it on the dot for that it won’t get used.'”

He adds, “So we were kind of like, ‘it’s not going to happen.’ We’ve never wrote a song in five days in our lives. Especially not from scratch and not for a video game that we obviously wanted to be really special. But it just came down to, we can try and fail or we can not do anything and definitely fail.”

The band pulled 18-19 hour days to create the track, and obviously it paid off. You can check out the interview snippet below.

You can hear the brand new Bring Me The Horizon track “Ludens” below and stream it here.

Death Stranding: Timefall track list:

1. “Trigger” Major Lazer & Khalid
2. “Ghost” Au/Ra & Alan Walker
3. “Death Stranding” Chvrches
4. “Yellow Box” The Neighbourhood
5. “Meanwhile…In Genova” The S.L.P.
6. “Ludens” Bring Me the Horizon
7. “Born In The Slumber” Flora Cash
8. “Sing To Me” MISSIO

Death Stranding: Timefall (Original Music from the World of Death Stranding) is slated to be released Nov. 7 via RCA Records and Sony Interactive Entertainment. The game itself will be released Nov. 8 on PlayStation 4.

See more: 11 musicians rocking face tattoos

[envira-gallery id=”194987″]

Written by Whitney Shoemaker

Whitney is your definition of pop punk trash. If she's not jamming to State Champs or Grayscale, then she's probably out enjoying the finer things or working a show for Fearless Records as a Street Team Leader. She's a realist and an optimist, calling the city of Columbus her home. A huge fan of naps, Whitney often falls asleep in a city that doesn't. She's not hard to please, finding joy in discovering new bands or playing Everlong on the late night radio. Working at Alt Press and breaking ground in the music scene have always been a dream of hers, telling herself at an early age she was down for losing it all to make that happen! Now the weekend writer at AP, Whitney is prepared to be noticed and eager to contribute to the scene. If you catch her at a concert feel free to stick around, make small talk, or discuss her overuse of State Champs lyrics and song titles in her bio.