Exclusive: The Get Up Kids to release first new album since 2004 - News - Alternative Press




Exclusive: The Get Up Kids to release first new album since 2004

October 29 2010, 11:00 AM EDT By Tim Karan

Influential emo outfit the Get Up Kids have exclusively revealed to Altpress that they'll be releasing a new studio album on January 25 through their own Quality Hill Records. There Are Rules will be the band's fifth full-length and their first studio album since 2004's Guilt Show, which was released by Vagrant. Frontman Matt Pryor says, "We had a really great relationship with Vagrant, but felt that with the proverbial rebirth of the band, we wanted to start our own label. Do everything ourselves like we did in the beginning. Quality Hill is a historic neighborhood in [the band's hometown of] Kansas City. It's not far from where we first formed the band. It seems like an appropriate name for the label."

The Get Up Kids—Pryor (vocals/guitar), Jim Suptic (guitar/vocals), Rob Pope (bass), James Dewees (keyboard) and Ryan Pope (drums)—formed in 1995 and went onto become one of the most recognizable and influential second wave emo bands. They released four full-lengths (1997's Four Minute Mile, 1999's Something To Write Home About, 2002's On A Wire and 2004's Guilt Show) along with several EPs and splits before breaking up in 2005. In the interim, Pryor played with the New Amsterdams and the Terrible Twos along with releasing a solo album in 2008; Suptic formed Blackpool Lights and co-founded Curb Appeal Records; Rob Pope joined Spoon and both he and his brother Ryan became members of Koufax; Dewees continued with his other project, Reggie And The Full Effect, and toured with New Found Glory and My Chemical Romance.

The band reunited in 2008 and released the Simple Science EP in 2010. There Are Rules marks their first full-length since coming back together.

1. Tithe 
2. Regent's Court 
3. Shatter Your Lungs
4. Automatic 
5. Pararelevant 
6. Rally 'Round the Fool 
7. Better Lie 
8. Keith Case 
9. The Widow Paris 
10. Birmingham 
11. When It Dies
12. Rememorable