Instagram is a photo and video sharing app.
Photo via Pixabay user TeroVesalainen

Facebook is notifying users that may have shared posts on “public” mode because of a bug.

Read more: Facebook to allow music in videos with new Lip Sync Live feature

Fourteen million Facebook users might have shared posts on public accidentally due to a software error last month.

The bug changed the sharing settings on users’ posts from “only me” or “friends” to “public,” even if that wasn’t the user’s default setting.

The Verge reports that the error happened between May 18 and May 27. Facebook stopped it on May 22, but took a few days to revert posts to previous settings.

“We have fixed this issue and starting today we are letting everyone affected know and asking them to review any posts they made during that time,” chief privacy officer Erin Egan explains in a statement.

“This bug occurred as we were building a new way to share featured items on your profile, like a photo,” Egan continues. “The problem has been fixed, and for anyone affected, we changed the audience back to what they’d been using before.”

The company is letting all users affected know about the bug.

Watch more: Five Pound Cheese Sandwich Wrecks Tiny Moving Parts Drummer