Who hasn’t sent a message and immediately wished they could take it back? Well, thanks to Facebook and an impending feature, that dream will soon become a reality.
The technology was already being implemented on the app in regards to founder and CEO Mark Zuckerberg’s messages, but it now looks like all users will be able to do the same, according to The Verge.
In April, the social media site secretly deleted messages Zuckerberg sent on the app as a measure of security.
“After Sony Pictures’ emails were hacked in 2014 we made a number of changes to protect our executives’ communications,” a Facebook spokesperson says in a statement to TechCrunch. “These included limiting the retention period for Mark’s messages in Messenger. We did so in full compliance with our legal obligations to preserve messages.”
Today, Verge discovered the same feature will be implemented for the rest of Facebook’s users. The features is noted as “coming soon” in the release notes for version 191.0 for iOS.
The notes state Messenger will now allow you to delete a message up to 10 minutes after it was sent. While 10 minutes is certainly better than nothing, Verge points out that the Facebook-owned WhatsApp allows up to an hour to take back messages.
The deletion feature was first spotted in mid-October. A tech tipster noticed the addition on their Android, and tweeted the discovery.
Facebook Messenger is finally working on “Unsend Message” in the app for everyone!
— Jane Manchun Wong (@wongmjane) October 12, 2018
At the time of the discovery, when editing messages already sent in a conversation, the “Unsend Message” option will appear. Once selected, a confirmation window will appear.
What do you think of Facebook’s new unsend option? Sound off in the comments!