Foo Fighters reveal ‘Sonic Highways’ album details, share new music

August 11, 2014
  • Share

After promising a big announcement on Monday, Foo Fighters have delivered and revealed the details of their upcoming eighth studio album. Sonic Highways, an eight-song effort, will be released on November 10 via Roswell Records (Dave Grohl’s RCA imprint label). You can check out the full tracklisting, (confirmed) album art and a new teaser clip below. Pre-orders are on sale now.

“This album is instantly recognizable as a Foo Fighters record,” Dave Grohl said in a statement, “but there's something deeper and more musical to it. I think that these cities and these people influenced us to stretch out and explore new territory, without losing our 'sound.'” In the teaser below (which shows Grohl getting a new tattoo) you can hear the frontman again screaming, “All Rise!” But this time, he’s backed by a full band. Sonic Highways was co-produced by the band with Butch Vig (Nirvana's Nevermind).

Read more about the album's concept from a press release:

“For the album and series, Grohl, Taylor Hawkins, Nate Mendel, Chris Shiflett and Pat Smear wrote and recorded one song in each of these eight cities, delving into the local musical currents: how each region shaped these musicians in their formative years, and in turn the impact those people had on the cultural fabric of their hometowns. All songs feature local legends sitting in, with every lyric written in an unprecedented experimental style: Dave held off on putting down words until the last day of each session, so as to be inspired by the experiences, interviews for the HBO series, and other local personalities who became part of the process.”

Sonic Highways:
01. Something From Nothing
02. The Feast and The Famine
03. Congregation
04. What Did I Do?/God As My Witness
05. Outside
06. In The Clear
07. Subterranean
08. I Am A River

Written by Matt Crane