Gerard Way releases ‘Hesitant Alien’ album details

July 30, 2014
  • Share

Gerard Way has revealed the release date, tracklisting a new teaser and more for his upcoming solo album, 'Hesitant Alien.'

Way is set to release his solo debut on September 30 with pre-orders beginning August 19, at which time he will also release a music video for “No Shows,” the third track on the album. 

The album’s track listing includes the raucous “Action Cat,” “Millions” and “Zero Zero” (the former the first track he demoed while MCR were still together; the latter a song he leaked on Soundcloud under the name Danny The Street over a year ago). Check out the full tracklisting below:

1. Bureau
2. Action Cat
3. No Shows
4. Casting Shadows
5. Millions
6. Zero Zero
7. Juarez
8. Drugstore Perfume
9. Get The Gang Together
10. How’s It Going To Be
11. Maya The Psychic

In a new statement posted on his website, Way says the sound of the album, which was produced by Doug McKean—who fans will recognize from the liner notes of The Black Parade and Danger Days… as well as lore surrounding MCR 5—and mixed by Tchad Blake (Arctic Monkeys, Black Keys): “I wanted to make the small things sound big. My intention was to make 100 percent uncompromised art, using the currently least radio-friendly instrument, the guitar. I knew there would be lots of fuzz pedals. I knew I would play Fender instruments. I knew I would look at who my guitar heroes were in art school, Mary Timony and Carrie Brownstein, and I drew a lot of influence from shoe-gaze and Britpop. I want the record to sonically galvanize people.”

“I looked to the Britpop poets like Jarvis Cocker and Damon Albarn, drawing upon every day life. I also experimented with the abstract, and looked at Frank Black’s work both with the Pixies, and as a solo artist. There was no concept and no call-to-arms.”

Stream a new teaser for the album below:

Written by Cassie Whitt