Julien Baker has announced a new album, Turn Out The Lights, and shared the record's first single, a somber ballad called “Appointments.” Hear Baker's new tune and check out the album release details below.

Read more: Hayley Williams, Julien Baker, more part of Bleached's feminist zine to benefit Planned Parenthood

Turn Out The Lights, Baker's sophomore effort, will be out on October 27 via Matador Records. The new LP follows her acclaimed debut, Sprained Ankle. Pre-order Turn Out The Lights from Matador Records here.

As previously reported by AP, Baker just signed to Matador earlier this year, releasing the non-album single “Funeral Pyre” this past March.

In an interview with Noisey, Baker recalls her formative years as an indie musician in Memphis, Tennessee. Claiming she never set out to be a singer, Baker says she aimed to hone her instrumental talents early on.

“Every girl is a singer,” Baker says. “I wanted to learn the solos and play lead guitar. I would meticulously teach myself solos so when dudes were like, 'Oh, you're a girl, you can't play guitar,' I could rip these insane Telecaster blues solos and tell them, 'Yeah, I can burn up a fret board.'”

Turn Out The Lights was recorded at Memphis' famed Ardent Studios (Big Star, the White Stripes) and mixed by Craig Silvey (Arcade Fire, the National).

Check out Julien Baker's new single “Appointments” via Apple Music or Spotify, below, and see Turn Out The Lights' track list after the tune. (via Stereogum)

Turn Out The Lights track listing:
1. Over
2. Appointments
3. Turn Out The Lights
4. Shadowboxing
5. Sour Breath
6. Televangelist
7. Everything That Helps You Sleep
8. Happy To Be Here
9. Hurt Less
10. Even
11. Claws In Your Back

Watch more: APMAs 2016 Interview: ANTHONY RANERI | PRS Lounge