PANIC AT THE DISCO-2018-altpress panic! at the disco
[Photo by: Jonathan Weiner]

Panic! At The Disco won big at this year’s MTV Video Music Awards, taking home the award for Best Rock. 

The band were up against the 1975, Fall Out Boy, Imagine Dragons, twenty one pilots and Lenny Kravitz for the major award. 

Read more: Missy Elliott performs epic throwback VMAs set with dancer Alyson Stoner

The band won for “High Hopes,” but did not accept the award during the show. 

Following the broadcast, the Panic! At The Disco Twitter account celebrated the win. “Ayyyeeee got a shiny new moon person to add to the shelf 🌕🏆 love y’all, thanks for voting!” they tweeted.

Brendon Urie was also nominated alongside Taylor Swift for Me! in Best Collaboration, Best Visual Effects, Best Cinematography.

The 36th annual MTV Music Video Awards is broadcasting live for the first time ever from the Prudential Center in Newark, New Jersey. 

While last year’s VMAs aired without a proper host instead relying on presenters to keep the broadcast moving, the show took an interesting turn this year. MTV recruited comedian Sebastian Maniscalco who outwardly admits he knows nothingabout music. The host received a mix of reactions when announced in June with most heading to Google to search “Who is Sebastian Maniscalco?”

The VMAs also introduced three new fan-voted categories this year including Best Group, Best Power Anthem and Song Of The Summer. 5 Seconds Of Summer, Halsey, Miley Cyrus, Billie Eilish, Ariana Grande, Post Malone, Lil Nas X and more are nominated across the new categories and beyond.

While Eilish Grande and Swift lead the nominations, they’re joined by some of our favorites in the 1975, Fall Out Boy, Panic! At The Disco, and twenty one pilots. Head here for the full list of winners from the 2019 MTV VMAs.

What do you think of Panic! At The Disco winning the award? Did you like the MTV award show? Sound off in the comments down below and let us know!

See more: The 10 most metal cartoon characters