weezer 2020
[Photo by: Sean Murphy]

Weezer fans have been anxiously counting down the days until their new album Van Weezer drops on May 7th. However, it looks like fans don’t have to wait much longer to hear new music from the band.

This week, Weezer announced that they have another new album on the way called OK Human which is arriving months before Van Weezer.

Read more: See how this Rage Against The Machine classic inspired a new doc on racism

Last year, Weezer gave listeners a few tastes of what they can expect from their new album Van Weezer. Following the debut of “The End Of The Game,” Weezer paid tribute to essential workers with the single “Hero.” However, due to the coronavirus pandemic, the release date of Van Weezer was eventually pushed to May 7.

Now, it looks like Weezer fans won’t be waiting that long to hear new music. This week, Weezer announced that their surprise new album OK Human arrives on Jan. 29. Listeners will get their first sneak peek of the album this Thursday with the release of “All My Favorite Songs.”

Read more: Josh Dun’s latest drum cover is a nod to Debby Ryan’s Disney past

For those of you wondering if this means Van Weezer will be further delayed, there’s no need to worry. The new album is still slated to arrive on May 7.

To help celebrate the album’s announcement, Weezer have launched an OK Human website that possibly has a few cryptic clues for those that can crack their codes.

Back in 2019, frontman Rivers Cuomo revealed that OK Human was almost complete.

Van Weezer is in mortal combat with Okay Human, a record that’s mostly done,” he told Entertainment Weekly. “That one’s totally different. It’s inspired by an album from 1970 called Nilsson Sings Newman. It’s all piano-based, but it has a ton of orchestration. We just did the strings at Abbey Road. It’s just gorgeous melodies and extremely eccentric lyrics.”

Just last month, Cuomo released over 2000 unheard Weezer demos. For just $9 for each compilation, fans get anywhere from a couple of dozen tracks to over a thousand or more songs.

Pre-orders for OK Human are available here.

Weezer OK Human

OK Human tracklisting:

1 All My Favorite Songs
2 Aloo Gobi
3 Grapes Of Wrath
4 Numbers
5 Playing My Piano
6 Mirror Image
7 Screens
8 Bird With A Broken Wing
9 Dead Roses
10 Everything Happens For A Reason
11 Here Comes The Rain
12 La Brea Tar Pits

What are your reactions to Weezer dropping OK Human next week? Let us know in the comments below.