[Photo by: WhatsApp]
WhatsApp might be making a pretty massive shift in regards to “unsending” messages—and we wish every platform would let us do the same.
As WABetaInfo reports, users may now have 4096 seconds—or 68 minutes and 16 seconds—to delete a message.
The site scanned through the early code of the app and reported that this change should happen with the new app update.
The Independent reports that features like this will sometimes find their way on the beta rollout initially, without getting permanence in the public release. However, they explain that this change is “likely to make its way into the main version of WhatsApp on both Android and iOS, depending on how it is received.”
And, as NME explains, tapping and holding a message, pressing “delete,” then selecting “delete for everyone” will remove the message—but still leave a message in the chat reading “this message was deleted.”
At present, you can delete messages up to seven minutes after sending.