Original Powerpuff Girls voice actresses upset they were never asked to return for new series

The original Powerpuff Girls voice actresses—Catherine Cavadini (Blossom), Tara Strong (Bubbles) and Elizabeth Daily (Buttercup)—aren't entirely pleased over the fact that they were never approached to be involved in the series' reboot, (via The Washington Post). Catherine and Tara, along with creator Craig McCracken (who also won't be returning), all took to Twitter to make their displeasure known.

Read more: New Powerpuff Girls series coming to Cartoon Network

Yesterday it was announced that a new Powerpuff Girls series will be coming to Cartoon Network in 2016. The trio will be voiced by Amanda Leighton (The Fosters), Kristen Li and Natalie Palamides. Additionally, Tom Kenny will be returning as everyone's favorite narrating mayor. Nick Jennings (Adventure Time) and Bob Boyle (Wow! Wow! Wubbzy!) will be in charge of the behind-the-scenes action.

Powerpuff Girls originally aired on Cartoon Network from 1998 to 2004, spanning the course of 78 action-packed episodes.