Sampa the great as above so below

Sampa The Great announces second album As Above, So Below, drops "Never Forget"

Sampa The Great has announced her new album, As Above, So Below. The project arrives Sept. 9 via Loma Vista.

She also released “Never Forget” along with its music video.

Read more: Sampa The Great taps Denzel Curry for new single “Lane”—watch

“Never Forget” begins with a brief bit of spoken-word poetry. The track quickly evolves and expands as a medley of claps and understated electric guitar weaves itself between Sampa’s speech.

Sampa shared the inspiration for her new track in a press release.

“‘Never Forget’ is an ode to Zamrock music, a genre born in the ’70s combining traditional Zambian music and psychedelic rock. In particular, the song focuses on kalindula music,” she says. “This tribute was inspired by the band WITCH and their lead singer Mr. Jagari Chanda, who has become one of my musical mentors.”

Sampa’s interest in Zamrock stems largely from the genre’s unnoticed status in its country of origin. In drawing insight from the genre, Sampa celebrates not only how its position in Zambian society mirrors her career but also its similarities to the Black diasporic experience.

“I discovered Zamrock later in my life and was surprised that this music was known globally, yet not fully celebrated and acknowledged in Zambia today,” Sampa says. “It hit home for me as I felt similarities in my own journey, having had my career take off outside my birth country.”

Check out the “Never Forget” video below.

As Above, So Below tracklist

1. “Shadows”
2. “Lane” (feat. Denzel Curry)
3. “Never Forget” (feat. Chef 187, Tio Nason, Mwanjé)
4. “Mask On” (feat. Joey Bada$$)
5. “BONA”
6. “Can I Live” (feat. W.I.T.C.H)
7. “Imposter Syndrome” (feat. James Sakala)
8. “Tilibobo”
9. “Lo Rain” (feat. Mwanjé)
10. “IDGAF” (feat. Kojey Radical)
11. “Let Me Be Great” (feat Angélique Kidjo)