Every year, an array of talented Canadian and international music artists are honored at the Canadian JUNO Awards. On Tuesday, the stacked list of nominations for the virtual 2021 JUNO Awards ceremony was announced ahead of its broadcast on May 16.

The Weeknd leads this year's list with a staggering six nominations. However, the 2021 nominations are particularly historic for a few bands in rock and alternative music. Silverstein, PUP, Dizzy and July Talk are just a few of the artists to earn nominations in the Rock Album Of The Year and Alternative Album Of The Year categories.

Read more: One of My Chemical Romance’s 2021 UK shows has been postponed

Due to the COVID-19 crisis, the 2020 JUNO Awards were canceled and the awards were handed out virtually in June. Despite this, a large group of artists took home awards last year including Avril Lavigne for the Fan Choice Award and Alessia Cara who walked away with Album Of The Year. Billie Eilish also won big and took home International Album Of The Year for WHEN WE ALL FALL ASLEEP, WHERE DO WE GO?.

Now, the 2021 nominations are finally here. On Tuesday, The Block's Angeline Tetteh-Wayoe hosted the official nominee announcement. Silverstein's A Beautiful Place To Drown, Crown Lands' self-titled, JJ Wilde's Ruthless, Neil Young & Crazy Horse's Colorado and Sam Roberts Bands' All Of Us are nominated for Rock Album Of The Year.

Read more: Phoebe Bridgers revisits “Kyoto” in new powerful acoustic ballad—listen

Back in 2006, Silverstein were nominated for New Group Of The Year alongside Bedouin Soundclash. Boys Night Out, Pocket Dwellers and Hedley. In the end, the award ended up going to Bedouin Soundclash.

A Beautiful Place To DrownBeartoothCaleb ShomoBurn It DownUnderoathAaron GillespieInfinitePrincess NokiaMadnessSimple PlanTake What You GiveIntervalsAaron Marshall Bad Habits
PUPThis Place Sucks AssDizzyThe Sun And Her Scorch Curtis WatersPity PartyJuly TalkPray For It U.S. GirlsHeavy Light
Read more: Escape The Fate, Crown The Empire and more join Slam Dunk 2021 lineup

This marks PUP's fifth nomination at the JUNO Awards. They were first nominated for Video Of The Year in 2015 for "Guilt Trip" which stars Finn Wolfhard. However, the award went to Kiesza's "Hideaway." That same year, they were also nominated for Recording Package Of The Year for PUP.

Dark DaysAdeleHelloMorbid Stuff
Baby Teeththe Washboard Union
Read more: Neck Deep reschedule ‘All Distortions Are Intentional’ UK tour to 2022

Along with the Weeknd's staggering six nominations, Justin Bieber, JP Saxe and Jessie Reyez all earned five nominations. As well, Celine Dion scored three nominations including Album Of The Year for CourageThese latest nominations bring her total JUNO nominations to 75.

Justin Bieber ChangesAli GatieYOU, Leonard CohenThanks For The Dance the Weeknd After Hours
EminemMusic To Be Murdered ByHarry StylesFine Line Taylor Swiftfolklore Eminem to addressBillie Eilishapologize to Rihannaseemingly fuel his ongoing feudMachine Gun Kellyfolklore Swiftfirst classified alternative albumthat surge in vinyl sales in the United States late last year

The 2021 JUNO Awards nominations ceremony and the full list of nominations are available below. The 2021 JUNO Awards will be broadcasted on Sunday, May 16 at 5 p.m. PT/8 p.m. ET on CBC TV.

2021 JUNO Awards nominations:

JUNO Fan Choice Presented by Freedom Mobile

Curtis Waters
JP Saxe
Lennon Stella
Les Cowboys Fringants
Tate McRae
Ali Gatie
Justin Bieber
Shawn Mendes
The Weeknd

Single Of The Year

Brett Kissel - "Drink About Me"
JP Saxe Featuring Julia Michaels- "If The World Was Ending"
Justin Bieber Featuring Quavo - "Intentions"
Lennon Stella - "Kissing Other People"
The Weeknd - "Blinding Lights"

International Album Of The Year

Eminem - Music To Be Murdered By
Harry Styles - Fine Line
Luke Combs - What You See Ain't Always What You Get
Pop Smoke - Shoot For The Stars Aim For The Moon
Taylor Swift - folklore

Album Of The Year

Ali Gatie - YOU
Celine Dion - Courage
Justin Bieber - Changes
Leonard Cohen - Thanks For The Dance
The Weeknd - After Hours

Artist Of The Year

Ali Gatie
Celine Dion
Jessie Reyez
Justin Bieber
The Weeknd

Group Of The Year

Half Moon Run
Loud Luxury
The Glorious Sons
The Reklaws

Breakthrough Artist Of The Year

Curtis Waters
JP Saxe
Ryland James
Tate McRae

Breakthrough Group Of The Year

Crown Lands
Manila Grey
Peach Pit
Young Bombs

Songwriter Of The Year

Alanis Morissette
Alessia Cara
Jessie Reyez
JP Saxe
The Weeknd, Belly & Jason Quenneville

Country Album Of The Year

Dallas Smith - Timeless
Jade Eagleson - Jade Eagleson
Lindsay Ell - heart theory
Mackenzie Porter - Drinkin' Songs: The Collection
Tenille Townes - The Lemonade Stand

Adult Alternative Album Of The Year

Bahamas - Sad Hunk
Basia Bulat - Are You in Love?
Begonia - Fear
Rufus Wainwright - Unfollow The Rules
Sarah Harmer - Are You Gone

Alternative Album Of The Year

Curtis Waters - Pity Party
Dizzy - The Sun And Her Scorch
July Talk - Pray For It
PUP - This Place Sucks Ass
U.S. Girls - Heavy Light

Pop Album Of The Year

Johnny Orlando - It's Never Really Over
JP Saxe - Hold It Together
Justin Bieber - Changes
Lennon Stella - Three. Two. One.
Ryland James - Ryland James

Rock Album Of The Year

Crown Lands - Crown Lands
JJ Wilde - Ruthless
Neil Young & Crazy Horse - Colorado
Sam Roberts Band - All of Us
Silverstein - A Beautiful Place To Drown

Rap Recording Of The Year

88Glam - New Mania
BBNO$ & Yung Gravy - Baby Gravy 2
Eric Reprid - Cold World
NAV - Good Intentions (Brown Boy 2 Deluxe Version)
Tobi - ELEMENTS Vol. 1

Dance Recording Of The Year

Felix Cartal, Sophie Simmons - MINE
Frank Walker - Dancing In The Dark
Rezz X Grabbitz - Someone Else
So Sus- Voices

Music Video Of The Year

Ben Knechtel, Scott Helman - "Wait No More"
Brittney Canda & Vincent Rene-Lortie, Sheenah Ko - "Wrap Me Up"
Emma Higgins, Jessie Reyez - "NO ONE'S IN THE ROOM"
Les Solis & Peter Huang, Jessie Reyez - "INTRUDERS"
Nick Denboer, DeadMau5 & The Neptunes - "Pomegranate"

Electronic Album Of The Year

Attlas - Lavender God
Bob Moses - Desire
Caribou - Suddenly
Jessy Lanza - All The Time
Cri - Juvenile

Metal/Hard Music Album Of The Year

Annihilator - Ballistic, Sadistic
Kataklysm - Unconquered
Protest the Hero - Palimpsest
Unleash The Archers - Abyss
Vile Creature - Glory, Glory! Apathy Took Helm!

Adult Contemporary Album Of The Year

Alanis Morissette - Such Pretty Forks in the Road
Celine Dion - Courage
Craig Stickland - Pour dejouer l-ennui
Storry - CH IIII: The Come Up

Jack Richardson Producer Of The Year

Akeel Henry
Jordan Manswell
Murda Beatz

Album Artwork Of The Year

Julien Hebert, David Beauchemin, Florence Obrecht, Marc-Etienne Mongrain
Lido Pimienta, Orly Anan, Mat Dunlap, Daniela Murillo
Luke Hoskin, John Meloche, Martin Wittfooth
Peter Dreimanis, Scott Waring, Leah Fay, Lyle Bell, Ty Snaden

2021 Humanitarian Award Recipient

The Tragically Hip

2021 MusiCounts Teach Of The Year

Sophie Jalbert
Bruce Millerd
Nicholas Pettipas
Mary Piercey-Lewis
Stephen Richardson

What are your reactions to the 2021 JUNO Awards nominations? Let us know in the comments below.