[Photo credit: Lily P. McLaughlin]

State Champs have won the award for Breakthrough Band, presented by Roadrunner Records and Fueled By Ramen, at the 2016 Alternative Press Music Awards!

“This is crazy! We are so excited,” frontman Derek Discanio says during their acceptance speech. “Most importantly it’s all because of you that we get to do this. Thank you, we love you!”

Read more: Here’s State Champs’ Warped Tour set list

After a fan vote, State Champs won against fellow nominees I Prevail, Neck Deep, Knuckle Puck, New Years Day and Set It Off.

State Champs co-headlined a world tour this year with Neck Deep and support from Knuckle Puck that sold out multiple dates.

Read more: State Champs open up on response from 5 Seconds Of Summer tour

The band have an impressive showing this year: They’re also nominated for Album Of The Year, Song Of The Year and Best Music Video. This current category marks  their first time taking home a Skully!

State Champs’ second studio album, Around The World And Back, released last October via Pure Noise. The record earned them an Album Of The Year nomination and a Song Of The Year nomination for “Secrets.”

Watch more: STATE CHAMPS - "Secrets" (Acoustic) on APTV SESSIONS