It’s been nearly a year and a half since we’ve heard anything new from blink-182, following the release of California’s deluxe edition in 2017. That’s all about to change thanks to Steve Aoki.

The two-time Grammy-nominated DJ and producer teamed up with the pop-punk mainstays for “Why Are We So Broken.” The track is taken from his upcoming Neon Future III, and it’s streaming exclusively on AP.

Read more: Frank Iero hilariously roasts fan who bought My Chemical Romance CDs

Travis Barker and Aoki have been friends for years, so the matchup made total sense for everyone.

“I’ve been friends with Steve for over 15 years, [so] doing a song with Steve and my band just came so easy,” Barker explains. “I think this song is a good balance between Steve Aoki and blink-182.”

Aoki echoed that friendship, explaining that it’s one of the most inspirational things when it comes to making tunes.

blink-182 are one of my favorite bands in the world, and they happen to be some of my close friends,” Aoki says. “There’s nothing better than making music with good friends that inspire the hell out of you.”

While the track is Aoki through and through, you can still hear plenty of blink’s influence.

“In ‘Why Are We So Broken,’ you can also hear all the blink elements that make them blink and electronic elements that make the song Aoki,” Aoki explains. “So proud of this one.”

Neon Future III is Aoki’s most pop-driven album to date, and it tackles his interest in futurism. In addition to blink, the album also includes collaborations with Jimmy Eat World’s Jim Adkins, AJR, Mike Posner, Lauren Jauregui and even Bill Nye The Science Guy among others.

Aoki also worked with BTS on “Waste It On Me,” which debuted at No. 1 in more than 60 countries and hit 4 million streams in the first 24 hours.

In addition to the album, Aoki also partnered with Impact Theory Comics and writer Jim Krueger to create a comic book based on the futuristic concept.

Aoki will celebrate the album’s release by engaging in an in-depth conversation with Impact Theory Comics founder Tom Bilyeu. The event will take place at the YouTube Space in New York Nov. 9 at 1 p.m. EST, and you can stream it here.

Check out “Why Are We So Broken” below.

“Why Are We So Broken” appears on Neon Future III, which is out via Ultra Music/Dim Mak tomorrow, Nov. 9. The album is available for preorder now, and you can check out the full tracklisting below.

1. “Neon Future III (Intro)”
2. “Just Hold On” ft. Louis Tomlinson
3. “Waste It On Me” ft. BTS
4. “Be Somebody” ft. Nicky Romero, Kiiara
5. “Pretender” ft. Lil Yachty, AJR
6. “A Lover And A Memory” ft. Mike Posner
7. “Why Are We So Broken” ft. blink-182
8. “Golden Days” ft. Jim Adkins of Jimmy Eat World
9. “Our Love Glows” ft. Lady Antebellum
10. “Anything More” ft. Era Istrefi
11. “All Night” ft. Lauren Jauregui
12. “Do Not Disturb” ft. Bella Thorne
13. “Lie To Me” ft. Ina Wroldsen
14. “Azukita” ft. Daddy Yankee, Play-N-Skillz & Elvis Crespo
15. “Hoovela” ft. TWIIG
16. “What We Started” ft. Don Diablo x Lush & Simon, BullySongs
17. “Noble Gas” ft. Bill Nye

Aoki will also be hitting the road with dates listed below and tickets available here.


02/14 – Birmingham, UK @ O2 Academy Birmingham
02/15 – Glasgow, UK @ Glasgow Barrowland Ballroom
02/16 – Newcastle, UK @ O2 Academy Newcastle
02/18 – Leeds, UK @ O2 Academy Leeds
02/19 – Nottingham, UK @ Rock City
02/21 – Bristol, UK @ O2 Academy Bristol
02/22 – London, UK @ O2 Academy Brixton
02/23 – Manchester, UK @ O2 Victoria Warehouse