[Image credit: Steve Thrasher]

Sum 41’s Frank Zummo just won Best Drummer, presented By Guitar Center, Remo and SJC Drums, at the 2017 Journey’s Alternative Press Music Awards, Fueled By Monster!

"The reason I play drums is because of my father and he passed away early this year, so this one’s for him," said Zummo.

Read more: And the 2017 APMAs winners are...

A crucial element to the reconstituted Sum 41, Zummo draws from his significant history in the LA rock scene, where he was a founding member of Street Drum Corps and an on-demand player powering outfits as diverse as theStart, Dead By Sunrise and Krewella.

Following a fan vote, the band won over fellow nominees Halestorm’s Arejay Hale, Night Verses’ Aric Improta, Good Charlotte’s Dean Butterworth, Dance Gavin Dance’s Matt Mingus and Machine Gun Kelly’s Jp “Rook” Cappelletty.

Sum 41 are also nominated for Best Music Video for “Fake My Own Death” and Artist Of The Year at the 2017 awards.

Watch his acceptance speech below!

Read more: Take a look at the rest of our 2017 APMAs coverage