We The Kings are responsible for one of the biggest scene staples with “Check Yes Juliet.” However, the pop-rock act’s most popular song is actually 2013’s “Sad Song” featuring Elena Coats based on Spotify streams and YouTube views.

The band reunited with Coats for a cover of “Baby It’s Cold Outside” from their upcoming Christmas album Season’s Greetings From The Sandbar. Read what frontman Travis Clark had to say about working with Coats again and Christmas songs as a whole below.

Read more: A ‘Harry Potter’ fan tried to adopt Tom Felton

Christmas, Christmas, Christmas...who else is looking forward to the holidays but not looking forward to hearing the same Mariah Carey Christmas song over and over and over and over and over...you get the point. I decided this year that I would try to be a part of the solution and record our very first non-winter-sounding Christmas album.  

As most of you know, We The Kings are from Florida. We’ve never really had the luxury of walking outside in December to fresh snow on the ground. Sandy beaches are about as close to snow-covered ground as it gets for us; therefore, an island-inspired album was put in the works.  

When it came to picking which songs we would cover, I had to dig deep into my list of holiday guilty pleasures which included a little bit from Michael Buble, Sam Smith, Bieber and a few others. Now, let me first establish that by no means do I think that I am reinventing the wheel; however, I will provide a different taste to some of the holiday classics that most of us can’t avoid.  

Within the 10-song album, I recorded eight covers and two originals. The song “There Is A Light” is one of the original Christmas songs that I wrote a few years ago that frankly my mom is obsessed with; the other original is titled “One People” which was produced in the same vein as the rest of the album and addresses unity and equality which, as we all know, is something that this world is struggling with.  

The other eight songs are covers of “Silent Night,” “Jingle Bells” and “Baby It’s Cold Outside” to name a few. The latter is a duet that I recorded with Elena Coats who sang with us in “Sad Song” and “XO” from previous albums.  

It’s always amazing to work with someone as talented as Elena is, mainly because her voice is flawless, and I never have to do any extra work editing her vocals. There is also something about her voice that is so nice listening to, and every time we have a need for a female vocal, she’s the first person I think of.  

With all this said, I hope you love what we did with this record and that it will be the perfect segue into the new music we will be putting out next year. Thanks for having me as a guest blogger, much love! —Travis

Check out “Baby It’s Cold Outside” below.

Season’s Greetings From The Sandbar drops Nov. 16 via S-Curve Records, and you can presave the album here. Check out the full tracklisting below.

1. “Silent Night” (feat. Anna Maria Island)
2. “Baby It’s Cold Outside” (feat. Elena Coats)
3. “One People”
4. “Jingle Bells” (feat. Frankie)
5.“ The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting On An Open Fire)”
6. “Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas”
7. “O Holy Night”
8. “I’m Dreaming Of A White Christmas”
9.“ Little Drummer Boy”
10. “There Is A Light”