AFI vocalist Davey Havok and guitarist Jade Puget will release the self-titled debut album from their new straight-edge hardcore band, XTRMST, November 18 via Dim Mak Records (Steve Aoki’s label).

"Jade and I have been talking about starting a straight edge hardcore band for years," says Havok. "We started writing and recording in early 2012 and chose the name XTRMST because it expresses the messages represented on the record. The straight edge movement is not one of moderation. It's based in undeniable objective truths."

Puget adds, "The straight edge philosophy is something that Davey and I gravitated towards at a young age, drawn by concepts and ideals that seem almost foreign in modern society. Like much of the other subcultures we were a part of growing up, it put us at odds with 99% of the people around us, which was something we embraced. Being sXe for over 20 years and being musicians, it seemed natural that this crucial ideology would find a musical expression."

Check out the tracklisting for the band’s upcoming album, and hear a new song, “Words For The Unwanted,” below (or at their official website). Let us know your thoughts.


1. Words For the Unwanted

2. Conformist

3. Social Deathplay

4. Merciless

5. Exterminate

6. Sharper

7. Extremist

8. The Breed

9. Humanity

10. The Way

11. Swallow Your God

12. Dirty Nails

13. Juliets

14. Coward Bow Your Head