yeah yeah yeahs spitting off the edge of the world
[Photo by David Black]

Yeah Yeah Yeahs share first song in 9 years, announce new album 'Cool It Down'

Yeah Yeah Yeahs have shared their first new song in nine years, “Spitting Off The Edge Of The World.” The track arrives ahead of their forthcoming album, Cool It Down, set to release Sept. 30.

Additionally, the band have released a music video to accompany the song featuring Perfume Genius.

Read more: Yeah Yeah Yeahs announce US tour dates, sign with Secretly Canadian

“Spitting Off The Edge Of The World” begins as a glossy track that surrounds listeners with a pillowy-soft echo before retreating into itself. As the reverb recedes, Karen O‘s vocals stand alone atop a wire-thin synth.

In the video, directed by Cody Critcheloe, Yeah Yeah Yeahs go on a surreal adventure. O and Genius’ night on the town quickly pivots from a normal ride in the back of a limo to driving down backroads in a tricked-out car a la Mad Max.

O shared her feelings about the band’s lengthy hiatus and their new album in a press release.

“To all who have waited, our dear fans, thank you. Our fever to tell has returned, and writing these songs came with its fair share of chills, tears and euphoria when the pain lifts and truth is revealed,” O says. “Don’t have to tell you how much we’ve been going through in the last nine years since our last record because you’ve been going through it too, and we love you and we see you, and we hope you feel the feels from the music we’ve made.”

Check out the “Spitting Off The Edge Of The World” video below.

Cool It Down tracklisting

1. “Spitting Off the Edge of the World” (feat. Perfume Genius)
2. “Lovebomb”
3. “Wolf”
4. “Fleez”
5. “Burning”
6. “Blacktop”
7. “Different Today”
8. “Mars”