After announcing its initial delay just over a week ago, Christofer Drew has given the release date of his upcoming solo record. The new record will now drop in June. It was originally supposed to be released on May 13. 

The upcoming record, titled Unborn Spark is an all-acoustic album featuring seven brand new songs, played on a 12-string guitar. 

Read More: 10 nostalgic comedy movies with surprisingly good soundtracks

Back in 2018, the former Never Shout Never frontman announced that the band was finished and he was planning to release more solo material and could possibly venture into the world of EDM music.

However, at the end of April, Drew shared some big news on social media. He said he would be releasing a solo acoustic record this year. 

In the video announcement, Drew shed some light on what he has been working on over the past five years.

Read More: QUIZ: Do you remember “All Downhill From Here” by New Found Glory?

“I’ve been writing so many songs,” he says. “I have well over 100 songs written, I’ve just been kind of waiting to find the right time to release stuff [and] find the right way to do it.”

For this new collection of songs, the “Trouble” singer expressed that he has gone back to “his roots” and that these songs have been a work in progress over the past few years.

Read More: Enter Shikari’s Rou Reynolds wants to help you meditate on things

“I’ve been working on these songs which are all originals [and] very heartfelt,” he says. “They’ve been in incubation for a long time. I feel like they have come a long way lyrically and I’m really excited to share it with you guys.”

Then, on May 5, Drew posted a video to his Twitter announcing that the album is being delayed. But, he said he plans on revealing the artwork and tracklisting soon enough. 


Now, Christofer Drew and his record company KYMICA Records have shared what appears to be the artwork for Unborn Spark and its new release date. The art is refreshingly simplistic. It features Drew with a guitar in black and white. It has plenty of enough odds and ends to keep the eye entertained though. The record will also be explicit, having the parental advisory warning at the bottom. 

Unborn Spark will drop on June 12 so we're already less than a month away. 

Read More: You can put yourself in twenty one pilots’ “Level Of Concern” video

Drew’s debut solo EP The Modern Racket was released back in 2011. The three-song EP featured the tracks the songs “Mister Funny Man,” “Livin’ The Dream” and “This Modern Racket.” Along with this, Never Shout Never’s second full-length album Harmony will turn 10 this upcoming August.

If you're not sold on just how talented Christofer Drew is, check out this list of 10 songs that prove he can sing anything.

Are you excited for Christofer Drew's Unborn Spark? Sound off in the comments below! 

See more: 30 albums turning 10 in 2019

[envira-gallery id="197607"]