Primavera Sound 2022
[Photo via Anthony DELANOIX/Unsplash]

Lorde, Charli XCX and more join lineup for Primavera Sound 2022

Lorde is scheduled to perform as part of the newly announced 2022 Primavera Sound festival lineup. The appearance will mark her first live performance since the Melodrama World Tour in 2018.

Lorde began trending on Twitter as thousands of her fans shared their excitement and disbelief about the singer’s return to the stage.

Read more: Nine Inch Nails, Run the Jewels and More Set to Headline Riot Fest 2021

After two years without Primavera Sound, the music festival is pulling out all the stops for their return to live music. There will be 11 days of concerts featuring headliners such as Charli XCX, Brittany Howard, 100 Gecs and more. Performances will be held in the Parcel del Forum during two weekends: June 2-4 and June 9-11. 

They announced the lineup with a tweet that read, “Zoom in. More artists to be announced. Tickets go on sale on 1st June at 11:00 CEST.” 

Between the two weekends, Primavera a la Ciutat will host over 150 performances in different venues around Barcelona, making it the largest edition of Primavera Sound yet. The festival will then close out on June 12 with a Brunch on the Beach party. 

Most of the artists from the canceled 2021 festival will remain on the lineup for 2022. They’ll also be joined by dozens of new names. 

Read more: These 9 women artists defined the Tumblr-era of alternative music

The weekend lineups will each be different, but both will feature prominent headliners including Tyler, The Creator, Tame Impala, Gorillaz, Jorja Smith, Massive Attack and the Strokes

Pavement, Beck, the National and Nick Cave And The Bad Seeds will also headline the first weekend, while Dua Lipa, Interpol, Lorde, Megan Thee Stallion and the Yeah Yeah Yeahs will headline the second weekend. 

June 5-8 features headliners Beck, Disclosure, Interpol, Jamie XX, Jorja Smith and Megan Thee Stallion. The Brunch on the Beach Party features Amelie Lens, Nina Kraviz, Peggy Gou, Chaos In The CBD, Hector Oaks, Joyhauser, Monolink, Nicola Cruz, Anika Kunst and Malika

Read more: Billie Eilish, Lizzo and more are set to headline Firefly music festival

The festival has also announced the creation of Fundació Primavera Sound with an initial endowment of 200,000 euros. The aim of the endowment is to bring together the corporate social responsibility actions of the festival,  the day-to-day life of Sant Adrià de Besòs and the neighbourhoods of Besòs i el Maresma and Diagonal Mar, where its headquarters will be located.

According to a May 21 website post, the foundation’s headquarters will be “a space where music, education, social integration, feminism and sustainability meet to become the focus of the new institution.”

View the lineup so far below.

primavera sound lineup
[Photo via
Tickets for the festival go on sale June 1 at 11:00 a.m. CEST.  Below are the options to purchase and more information is available here.

Read more: Dashboard Confessional reveal 2021 Unplugged tour with exclusive presale

Weekend one and two both cost 245€ without fees. Tickets to access both weekends are 425€ plus fees and include the Brunch on the Beach. Single day tickets cost 110€ plus fees. 

Ticket holders who purchased full festival tickets for both the 2020 and 2021 editions of the festival are eligible to attend one weekend of the 2022 event. They can also purchase additional upgrades to attend both weekends. Day ticket purchases will allow ticket holders to choose one of the six main days at the Parc del Forum. 

DICE, Redtkt, Ticketmaster and Festicket will contact ticket holders May 25 with information about the process. Those who purchased tickets at La Virreina will have to go through the process on the Primavera Sound webpage.

Refunds can be requested on June 1. More information can be found here.